ottohutt
otto hutt
01 / 01

design08

design08 has been revealed.

With design08, Mark Braun and Otto Hutt have once again created an extraordinary writing instrument: the fountain pen is finished with ruthenium and the surface is covered in a guilloché pattern. With the Pull + Twist™ function, the 18 ct gold nib is supplied with ink by just a turn of the hand. design08, that is high-tech for writing. Would you like to find out more about design08?

In the live release video, designer Mark Braun and Otto Hutt managing director Marco Frei reveal details from the developer workshop to writing instrument enthusiast Samuel Naldi. Available for a re-watch on YouTube.

design08. Order now >

The product video for design08, created by writing instrument enthusiast Samuel Naldi:

A work process, interlocking like clockwork.

Otto Hutt writing instruments are 100% made in Germany. When you hold a design08 in your hand, the writing instrument has already gone through  several clearly defined development and production steps.

Design development: Mark Braun designed the first design08 draft, refining all details from the handle to the clip to the cap. Not stopping until each component had found its perfect place.

Construction: This is where the technical aspect came in. In the 3D model, all components of design08 were integrated into the design draft. The weight distribution of the 30 to 35 components was checked - including the clip and the Pull + Twist™ mechanism.

First edition: Material procurement, programming of the CNC lathes and milling machines and subsequent production of around 100 design08 fountain pens. Based on this first edition, the assembly process was tested and individual parts were further optimized.

Production: Precise production of all brass components at Otto Hutt - with the exception of the handle, which was manufactured separately. It is made of stainless steel and then PVD-coated.

Satin finishing: The surfaces of the components were given a matt finish by sandblasting.

Engraving: The Otto Hutt logo, the individual numbering and "Made in Germany" were lasered into the surface.

Electroplating: galvanic finishing of all design08 brass components with ruthenium. The result is a color that looks like titanium. It is not painted on but works from the inside, shining out of the material itself.

Inner workings: Concurrently, all parts of the invisible precision mechanics for the mechanical clip and the Pull + Twist™ function were manufactured.

Assembly: Each fountain pen was assembled by hand.

Functional testing: Breaking in of the nib and conscientious functional testing of every single design08 fountain pen.

design08 is more than the sum of all work steps – it is a holistic design concept that is concerned with the idea of ​​high-quality, sustainable production on-site and of creating products that will last a lifetime.

Relive the world premiere now on YouTube.

design08. Order now >

design08. Pull+Twist™. Filling up ink is that easy.

Dip the nib into the ink. Turn once. Your pen is ready to go. A unique invention.
In 2020 Otto Hutt presented its designC fountain pen with the Pull+Twist™ function.
A world premiere at the time, it is still unrivaled to this day. No wonder that designC and design08 are equipped with this intelligent pump system. Berlin-based designer Mark Braun designed both fountain pens. When he planned the new design08 as a piston fountain pen, his aim was to make refilling as efficient as possible.

design08 is a product of the Otto Hutt writing instrument manufacture. Constructed down to the tiniest detail and realized with precision and love by Otto Hutt engineers. But see for yourself.

What will design08 look like? The countdown is on.
Be part of the world premiere, live and online: on March 26th, 2021, 5 p.m – also on Instagram

design08. Pre-order now >

 

Designer Mark Braun on the conception of design08:

This is high-tech for writing. design08.

Good engineering is deeply anchored in Germany, so they say. While high-tech engineering is often associated with machine or car manufacturing, it is still rarely found in the consumer sector. We drive expensive cars and write with cheap pens.

With high-class Otto Hutt writing instruments, two worlds meet: the high-tech demands of quality, craftsmanship and precision connect with common objects. This is much more than a trend, it is a change in values that Otto Hutt has been driving. Making quality count benefits all: business, sales, the production sites, our environment and our customers. Instead of going through dozens of disposable ballpoint pens a year, enjoy writing with one dedicated writing instrument that will over the years become a part of you, just like a piece of jewelry.

What will design08 look like? The countdown is on.
Be part of the world premiere, live and online: on March 26th, 2021, 5 p.m.

design08. Pre-order now >

 

Designer Mark Braun on the conception of design08:

Form follows function: design08.

Product design in words. Playing with proportions. A basic cylindrical structure, with a ledge. A regular guilloché pattern lines the surface. A process that sits deep within the heart of Otto Hutt's history. These lines cover the entire writing instrument. Notches in the grip add support for easy handling, making fingers feel at home when writing.

The mechanical clip is manufactured with high precision: design08 will stay safely put in your shirt pocket. The cylindrical cap forms a mechanical connection with the clip – as if the fine mechanics of the writing instrument are mirrored by its parts.

Watch out for it. The countdown is on.

 

Designer Mark Braun on the conception of design08:

design08. Quality bordering on the extravagant.

Mark Braun is the designer, design08 a brand ambassador for Otto Hutt. The writing instrument illustrates quality standards that flaunt an extravagant attitude towards design, development, manufacture and use of the writing instruments. design08 symbolizes a worldview, a lifestyle and a take on consumerism. This is where the design process set in. The result?

Watch out for it. The countdown is on.

 

Designer Mark Braun on the conception of design08:

ottohutt
otto hutt
01 / 01

design08

design08 ist enthüllt.

Mit design08 haben Mark Braun und Otto Hutt erneut ein außergewöhnliches Schreibgerät geschaffen: Der Füllfederhalter ist mit Ruthenium veredelt, die Oberfläche guillochiert. Mit der Pull+Twist™ Funktion wird die 18 ct Goldfeder im Handumdrehen mit Tinte versorgt. design08, das ist Hightech zum Schreiben. Sie möchten noch mehr über design08 erfahren?

Im Live Release verraten Designer Mark Braun und Otto Hutt Geschäftsführer Marco Frei dem Schreibgeräte-Enthusiast Samuel Naldi Details aus der Entwicklerwerkstatt. Hier für Sie zum Nachschauen auf YouTube.

design08. Jetzt direkt bestellen >

Das Produktvideo zu design08, kreiert von Schreibgeräte-Enthusiast Samuel Naldi:

Arbeitsschritte, die wie ein Uhrwerk ineinandergreifen.

Otto Hutt Schreibgeräte werden zu 100 % in Deutschland hergestellt.
Bevor Sie einen design08 in der Hand halten, hat das Schreibgerät klar definierte Entwicklungs- und Produktionsschritte durchlaufen.

Designentwicklung: Mark Braun gestaltet den ersten design08 Entwurf und verfeinerte alle Details vom Griffstück über den Clip bis zur Kappe – und bis alle technischen Details ihren Platz gefunden haben.

Konstruktion: Jetzt drehte sich alles um die technische Machbarkeit. Im 3D Aufbau
 lassen sich alle Komponenten des design08 in den Designentwurf integrieren und die Gewichtsverteilung der 30 bis 35 Bauteile überprüfen – inklusive des Clip- sowie des Pull+Twist™ Mechanismus.

Erste Auflage: Materialbeschaffung, Programmierung der CNC Dreh- und Fräsmaschinen und anschließende Herstellung von etwa 100 design08 Füllfederhaltern. Anhand dieser ersten Auflage wird der Ablauf der Montage getestet und Einzelteile optimiert.

Produktion: Präzise Herstellung aller Messing-Bauteile bei Otto Hutt – mit Ausnahme des Griffstückes, das aus Edelstahl besteht, separat hergestellt und PVD-beschichtet wird.

Satinieren: Die Oberflächen der Bauteile werden durch Sandstrahlen mattiert.

Gravieren: Das Otto Hutt Logo, die individuelle Nummerierung und „Made in Germany“ werden in die Oberflächen gelasert.

Galvanisieren: Galvanische Veredelung aller design08 Messing-Bauteile mit Ruthenium. Eine Farbigkeit wie Titan und eine Farbe, die nicht auflackiert wird, sondern von innen, aus dem Material wirkt

Innenleben: Parallel werden alle Teile der verborgenen Feinmechanik für den mechanischen Clip und die Pull+Twist™ Funktion gefertigt.

Montage: Jeder Füllfederhalter wird von Hand montiert.

Funktionsprüfung: Anschreiben und gewissenhafte Funktionsprüfung jedes einzelnen design08 Füllfederhalters.

design08 ist mehr als die Summe aller Arbeitsschritte – es ist ein gestalterischer Gesamtentwurf, der für die Idee steht, hochwertig, nachhaltig vor Ort zu produzieren und Produkte zu schaffen, die ein Leben lang funktionieren.

Die Weltpremiere jetzt auf YouTube erleben.

design08. Jetzt bestellen >

design08. Pull+Twist™. So einfach ist Tinte tanken.

Feder in die Tinte. Kurz drehen. Füller befüllt. Das gab es bisher nur einmal.
2020 stellte Otto Hutt den designC Füllfederhalter mit der Pull+Twist™ Funktion vor.
Damals eine Weltneuheit. Heute noch immer. Kein Wunder, dass designC und design08 mit dem gleichen intelligenten Pumpensystem ausgestattet sind. Beide Füllfederhalter hat der Designer Mark Braun aus Berlin entworfen. 
Er hat den neuen design08 als Kolbenfüller gestaltet und keine Geduld zu warten, bis die Tinte aufgefüllt ist.

Das Licht der Welt hat design08 in der Otto Hutt Schreibgerätemanufaktur erblickt. Bis ins letzte Detail durchdacht und von den Otto Hutt Ingenieuren mit Präzision und Liebe zum letzten Detail umgesetzt. Aber schauen Sie selbst.

Wie design08 aussieht? Der Countdown läuft.
Die Weltpremiere live online miterleben: Am 26.03.2021, 17 Uhr – auch auf Instagram

design08. Jetzt vorbestellen >

 

Designer Mark Braun zur Entwicklung von design08:

Hightech gibts jetzt auch zum Schreiben. design08.

Deutschland ist das Land der Ingenieure. Das ist nicht neu. Bisher sind hochwertige Technologien meist dem Maschinen- oder Autobau vorbehalten. Hightech im Consumerbereich findet man selten. Wir fahren hochwertige Autos und schreiben mit Billigkugelschreibern.

Mit den hochwertigen Otto Hutt Schreibgeräten werden Ansprüche an Wertigkeit, Fertigungskunst und Präzision in die Welt alltäglicher Produkte und Gegenstände getragen. Das ist viel mehr als ein Trend, es ist ein Wertewandel, den Otto Hutt mitgestaltet und der zu langfristiger Kundenbindung führt. Gut fürs Business, für den Verkauf, für die Fertigungsstandorte, für unsere Umwelt und unsere Kunden. Statt im Jahr dutzende Kugelschreiber zu verlegen, konzentriert man sich auf ein individuelles Schreibgerät, das man viele Jahre wie ein Schmuckstück mit sich führt.

Wie design08 aussieht? Der Countdown läuft.
Die Weltpremiere live online miterleben: Am 26.03.2021, 17 Uhr

design08. Jetzt vorbestellen >

 

Designer Mark Braun zur Entwicklung von design08:

Form follows function: design08.

Produktdesign in Worten. Ein Spiel mit Proportionen. Der Grundaufbau ist zylindrisch – mit Absatz. Die regelmäßigen Linien auf der Oberfläche sind guillochiert. Ein Verfahren, das in der Otto Hutt Geschichte tief verwurzelt ist. Die Linien prägen die gesamte Oberfläche des Schreibgerätes. Einkerbungen im Griffstück geben Halt bei der Handhabung und den Fingern beim Schreiben ein Zuhause.

Der mechanische Clip ist hochpräzise gefertigt. So kann man design08 sicher in die Hemdtasche stecken. Die Kappe ist ebenfalls zylindrisch und geht mit dem Clip eine mechanische Verbindung ein – praktisch so, als wenn die Feinmechanik des Schreibgerätes nach außen drängt.

Seien Sie gespannt. Der Countdown läuft.

 

Designer Mark Braun zur Entwicklung von design08:

design08. Qualität am Rande der Unvernunft.

Mark Braun ist der Designer. design08 ein Markenbotschafter für Otto Hutt. In dem Schreibgerät zeigen sich Qualitätsansprüche, die fast unvernünftig die Haltung hinter Gestaltung, Entwicklung, Fertigung und Funktion der Schreibgeräte wiedergeben. design08 steht symbolisch für eine Weltanschauung, eine Einstellung zum Leben und zur Warenkultur. Das war der Startschuss für die Entwicklung. Was daraus geworden ist?

Seien Sie gespannt. Der Countdown läuft.

 

Designer Mark Braun zur Entwicklung von design08: